Skip to content

Pizza

January 31, 2010

I am intimidated by big fat recipes. I have good intentions when I purchase the ingredients, I really do plan to make these things. What usually happens is when it comes time to prepare something new , I abort the mission and make something I am familiar with. At some point I open the fridge and I have all these unused ingredients staring at me, mocking me :

” You can’t even make a grilled vegetable sandwich?!- HA!” mocks the garlic and cheese spread

” C’mon , its easy to prepare me” taunts the yellow squash

The grapes just sit there in a bowl, just about the cross the threshold from grape to Raisin-in-training.

These innocent ingredients are about to die. I must use them in some sort of dish…like pizza?

Pizza is easy.  I can do pizza. Thanks to Trader Joes, all I really have to do is throw everything on some class of  prepared bread tablet *, put them in the oven and look at the clock( rooster timer, remember?). I’ve done it before, its a crowd pleaser.  Monkey ( my daughter) likes to help, so its a frequent go -to.

So if its so easy, why did I need tweezers for tonight’s dinner ? I’m pretty sure I am the only person in the planet who has had the following happen:

You know those ” don’t eat me” packets that come in shoe boxes?  Im not really sure why they are there- but there was one in my pizza dough package, and as I was putting my pizza to bake , it fell into the oven. Right between the hinge on the door to the oven sat that little white packet of who knows what.  Mind you , my oven is at 425 degrees. What does Mystery packet do if its heated ? will it explode? Will it catch fire ? My man-hands are too sausage-like to get it out without burning myself, and since my kitchen is bare-boned, I have no tongs. So I had to get tweezers. Thankfully, the white packet did not burn or blow up my house. And the pizza came out awesome.

Quick. How many people will eat this pizza?

Can you tell there are three people here w/ different tastes? Cheese and olives for the husband, Monkey gets cheese and sauce, and I get spinach & yellow squash- both about to go bad in my fridge. It came out great and I decided I’m going to institute Homemade Pizza Fridays.

Monkey Seal of Approval. Yes, we are eating dinner on the floor these days. Just not a battle I’m going to fight

* I should have taken a picture of the crust  I used. It was from Trader Joes of course, as was the pizza sauce, cheese and squash. The crust was a basil and sea salt flatbread and sooo delicious. I do not get paid by Trader Joes to mention their awesome, wallet- friendly fare. I just love their stuff.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 8:03 pm

    Looks tasty. FYI, the little packets contain silica to absorb moisture.

  2. January 31, 2010 10:50 pm

    Looks super yummy! My kids would love how it has sections of their favorite toppings!

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    February 2, 2010 4:53 am

    Hi there – this pizza looks great and I love the idea of using anything that is hanging out in the fridge! On a totally unrelated note (and I hope this doesn’t come off in a strange way…), but my daughter is 2 1/2 and has hair that is so similar to your daughters!
    We moved from Northern CA to Austin, TX and I am still adjusting to the humidity here – especially for her hair. Is there any particular product you use that you would recommend? A stylist recommended using leave-in conditioner mixed with water in a spray bottle and I am currently doing that every morning. Just wondering if you had any tips. Sorry to be so off topic! :-)

    • February 2, 2010 12:48 pm

      no problem about going off topic :) I use a water bottle to wet her hair in the am and get out the dreadlocks (ugh!), then I put in either Johnson and Johnson’s Leave in Conditioner ( the cream) or Garnier Anti-Frizz serum. I find the detangling spray makes her hair crunchy . I get a lot of compliments on her hair, as I’m sure you do for your daughter, but it is such.a.pain. to do . As its gotten longer ( finally! She had a Richard Simmons thing going on for a while) her hair is becoming less curly. I told H. I can not have my baby turn four and lose her curls in the same year… I just won’t make it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

