Skip to content

Hot Sauce

January 28, 2010

When the hot sauce is out, I know the food was crap.


My Mother in law is a traditional Italian woman. Preparing full  meals at 2am just because you ask is no problem for her. She will make you a meat loaf as a side dish to a five course meal. She gives my 3 year old adult sized portions. She loves to feed people… and she is a very good cook. My husband will tell you she is the best there is.

So how he is attracted to someone like me who can not cook is a mystery. It wasn’t a surprise either- we had been friends for many years before we got involved, so he knew what he was getting into. My husband has a lot of great qualities- a wonderful father, smart and makes me laugh like no one else. He is an honest, caring man who, despite the slop I put in front of him, has never ever said how bad something I’ve made him  is. With his words.  The amount of hot sauce on his plate, presumably to mask the taste of the  lemon chicken I’ve defiled speaks volumes.  I can always tell how much he liked or didn’t like something by how much hot sauce he uses. The Lemon Chicken ( made without actual lemons, I swear to you I thought lemon juice would suffice) was about half a bottle. I mean how HUNGRY must the poor man have been to taste my faux-lemon chicken, realize it was sucky, and then drown the taste in hot sauce… and continue eating it. When I asked him how it was he said it was a ‘little dry’. With a straight face. What a guy, right?

The other day I sent him to work with a Jessica Chicken Stir Fry ™ I made. He texted me a few hours later and wrote ” The chicken is g- damn delicious “.

That is the very first time he enjoyed a meal so much he called texted me to tell me how much he enjoyed it ! Although I do have to wonder if soy sauce is the new hot sauce…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 7:15 pm

    You are hilarious! I can’t wait to read some more!

  2. January 31, 2010 8:06 pm

    Awww, what a sweet heart texting how much he liked something. It’s also very sweet that he doesn’t come out and say he doesn’t like something.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

